“Our Safe Haven”

You all know that I listen to the music everyone stereotypes and disregards because they fear what they don’t understand. It’s the “screaming” music, the kind that everyone looks upon because it’s different. Little do those people realize that it’s much more than just lyrics, songs, bands, members, and music. It helps us during times that don’t make sense. Even just one of our favorite songs could change our mood or day drastically. Not everyone has that connection like we do.

What’s so beautiful about music is that there are so many different kinds. We all resort to our genre, although it’s more than just the “all black, scene, rebellious, outcast, depressed, emo” kids. We aren’t those stereotypes because we see family in each other. A lot of us are actually really protective over the other fans. We are together united to protect each other because it’s our right. But others who are on the outside wouldn’t notice and understand that.

Music is something that I personally use as a crutch no matter the good and bad. For instance, when I’m in a good mood I hear the music and beat, but when I’m sad I can physically and mentally feel the lyrics deep down. Music serves as a placeholder for when I need a friend or even advice of what to do. I will always depend on music because it has never left me for the dead. There’s just something about this genre of music that attracts me and I’m not ashamed to say that. I feel as if I get judged quite often whether at school, church, or other concerts by the bystanders; but that’s okay. I’m proud of who I am and so should you.

This type of music helps us when we’re depressed, going through a hard, time, in the darkest part of our mind, and when we contemplate negative things. I can assure you that music has saved lives, changed lives, and brought friendships together. It’s cliche to say that “music saves lives”, but it definitely happens. If music was a person, I’d probably write them a letter thanking them for saving my life and especially some of my close friends. If it weren’t for music, I don’t think I would be alive honestly. It’s frightening for me to think “what if one day I woke up and there was no such thing as ipods, youtube, playlists, spotify, pandora, concerts, and festivals?” It speaks to me and makes me feel at home. I no longer feel anxious, scared, or lonely. When I’m squished on the ground level of the venue with others I feel okay; I don’t feel so alone. All I can think is “this is my home, I belong here.”

When I was growing up, I knew I was different than other kids my age and not in a bad way. I just wasn’t as preppy or liked the same things as everyone else. In the 6th grade, I started to like bands and dress different which eventually took a toll. I remember getting stares and it felt as if people were judging out loud. But that surely didn’t stop me from listening to my music really loud on the bus or before soccer games. I resorted to myself and that’s all that mattered.

Music provides us with an outlet when we’re not okay. It’s a personal hug or “shout” of words when we need re-direction at that point in our life. There’s absolutely nothing wrong with music that “screams”. The only thing different is the way the message is being portrayed, which from others it might seem violent, mean, and heavy. But we hear something completely different from it; assurance, welcoming, love, advice, peace, and comfort. I don’t understand why people make it so destructive and violent, because not all of it is. For one reason, is that individuals don’t mentally comprehend what the lyrics are; while on the other hand we do. “They hear the screaming, and we hear the meaning.” If they knew the message and story behind it, then maybe they wouldn’t be quick to judge and turn away.

To me, music helps me through my really bad episodes of anxiety/panic attacks. It helps me when I’m really depressed or stressed about something. It’s like oxygen to someone who’s losing their breath, water to someone who’s dehydrated, medicine to someone who’s ill, and love to someone who’s been heartbroken multiple of times. It has many positive effects towards each of us listeners. It can seriously change someone’s life and turn it around as much as save them from the darkness of their prisoner cell of a mind. I want to change others views about us in this genre of music because it’s not right what they’re thinking or believing when they haven’t even heard the whole story, you know?

Music is supposed to have meaning, a message, powerful lyrics, and a feeling to go with it that no one can describe through words. No one understands the “screaming” but we can surely tell someone else every detail behind the song in 1,000 different ways that they never thought of. I want this genre of music to not be looked upon as something negative. Granted, there are some people that fulfill the stereotype but that doesn’t represent the majority.

The message through all of this is to stand up for what you believe in and what you’re passionate about. I encourage you to be open-minded and to never give in to others opinions of you or the music you listen to. It’s okay to listen to country, metal, rap, opera, blues, jazz, classical, etc. If that genre helps you on a personal level, I say keep with it because you’re the most important person in the whole world. Your life matters and your existence is precious. Don’t worry about what others say, they don’t understand.

Don’t ever change for someone else no matter what. Live your dreams out loud. Keep listening to that band or song that helps you during the night when you get really sad or deep into your thoughts. Keep listening to the music that speaks not only to you but to your heart. Keep listening to the music that truly helps you through the bad and good. Keep listening to music no matter what others say. Keep listening to music because words speak when words fail. Keep listening to the music that’s represented as your safe haven from the scary world around you. Keep listening to the music that comforts you and makes you forget about everyone else. Keep listening to the music that brings you happiness despite its sound.

Always do what makes you happy, regardless of what society tells you. We weren’t born to conform, we were born to stand out and that’s perfectly okay. We are unique and special in our own way. “Stop blending in and start speaking out” -MMF

-Sare

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment